sImPlE wAy To PrOtEcT yOuR pRiVaCy

screenshot.pngWe spoke about privacy matters on social media in my other page (thanks to Margie Anderson!) and how essential it is to protect it. If you’re like me who often get lost in the “media” and the spider webs I do get rather worried if my metadata is being given away. Surely, I leave some trails, a scent or a DNA of my typos somewhere in this some form of fancy word ‘encryption’. No, I’m not a snail, (though I do move quite slow and I’d love to be able to carry my house and plonk it somewhere in a nice garden). But after being stalked by telemarketers on my phones (especially when I’m about to spoon a lovely salad over dinner!) and so many pop up ads on my screen, I’ve decided that maybe the Big Brother isn’t watching (my big brother would rather do anything but watch me!) but someone else is. Look at those cyber attacks that happened to the hospitals in UK [Major cyberattack paralyzes U.K. health facilities — why your hospital could be next]. To bring us closer to home, well, we’re not affected according to the government [Australian organisations unaffected by global cyber attack: federal government] but again, whom do you trust, really. Put Trump’s phenomena of fake news aside. The threat to our privacy being breached is real. Whether it is accidental or intentional (honestly? the attacker would be so doped to find that my next-to-nothing balance in my bank account is worthless to tap into) but the issue is if they could get into a ‘safe’ and ‘trustworthy’ NSA (that’s National Security Agency), clearly what chance have I got?

screenshot.png

Again, if you’re like me who have very little in the bank, I would defend my few pennies to stay there, in the bank. I need my late and there’s enough in the bank to sustain my heavy heads in the morning lectures. So, yes, I’ll defend my few pennies. So, for the sake my few cents, pennies, or yen or whatever, I’d block the bastards off! Ooops. Excuse the language. Anyhow, some smart people like Gabriel Weinber offered us simple steps:

Raising the standard of trust online

The rest, you know what to do. I found him lurking in Medium Daily Digest. It’s a thingamagic I subscribe to. Mr Weinber’s put it all in simple ways so a slow-head like me can follow. That’s not all. In his site called DuckDuckGo (don’t you just love it?!) he offers more so check it out.

How to encrypt your devices

How to encrypt your devices
Easy steps to encrypt your phone and computer to keep your data safe.

How To Protect Your Privacy On Windows 7

How To Protect Your Privacy On Windows 7

How To Protect Your Privacy On Windows 10

How To Protect Your Privacy On Windows 10

How To Protect Your Privacy On Mac

How To Protect Your Privacy On Mac

Who Decides What Websites You Visit?

Who Decides What Websites You Visit?

How To Protect Your Privacy On Android

How To Protect Your Privacy On Android

Is Your Data Being Sold?

Is Your Data Being Sold?

Have You Deleted Your Google Search History Yet?

Have You Deleted Your Google Search History Yet?

How To Protect Your Privacy On iPhone

How To Protect Your Privacy On iPhone

Are Ads Costing You Money?

Are Ads Costing You Money?

Are Ads Following You?

Are Ads Following You?

Tracking In Incognito?

Tracking In Incognito?

2017 DuckDuckGo Donations: $300,000 to Raise the Standard of Trust Online

2017 DuckDuckGo Donations: $300,000 to Raise the Standard of Trust …

DuckDuckGo SecureDrop

DuckDuckGo SecureDrop

Is Private Browsing Really Private?

Is Private Browsing Really Private?

10 Billion Private Searches & Counting!

10 Billion Private Searches & Counting!
Author: mary zuchrah Idris

Books, gardens, journal writing, libraries, science, history, tech and my kids keep my brain ticking, my toes wriggling and my heart drumming. You'll discover why when you visit my site. I passed through lots of hurdles. I fall, I cringe, maybe cry a bit, then I get up, wipe my knees (my tears included!) then keep on walking . Going forward is the only option, until the Tardis catches up with me.

Leave a Reply

